Connect with Us:                   Contact   |   Home

Lagos Archdiocese
Province: Lagos
Contact: <p>Archbishop's House<br /> 19. Catholic Mission Street.<br /> Box 8, Lagos</p>
Ordinary: Alfred Adewale Martins > Archbishop

History: <p>In 1870, after 10 years of existence, the Vicariate of Dahomey became the Vicariate of the Bight of Benin (Orae Benin). From the Original Vicariate, the following jurisdictions were created: the Prefecture of Dahomey (1883), the Prefecture of Upper Niger (1884), the Vicariates of Ondo-llorin (1943), the Prefecture of Oyo (1949), and the Prefecture of Ibadan (1952). The remainder of the Vicariate of the Bight of Benin was raised to the status of an Archdiocese on the 8th of April, 1950, with the name Archdiocese of Lagos. in 1969, the Ijebu-Ode district was created a Diocese, in 1997, the Yewa district was created as the Catholic Diocese of Abeokuta.</p> <p>The total geographical coverage is 3, It comprises mainly of the Lagos State.</p>