Connect with Us:                   Contact   |   Home

About Us

Incorporated in March 15, 1958, the Catholic Bishops' Conference of Nigeria, CBCN, is the organ of unity, communion and solidarity for the millions of Catholics spread across the thirty six states of Nigeria and the Federal Capital Territory. It is the forum wherein the collegiality of the Nigerian Catholic bishops, as successors of the Apostles in union with the Pope, is expressed and where the idea of the Church as family is signified. Through the Conference, the archbishops and bishops of the 54 ecclesiastical jurisdictions, as shepherds of souls in their archdioceses and dioceses, are able to pray together, study together, and work together; and with one voice, are able to speak and spearhead the teaching, prophetic and pastoral ministry of the Catholic Church in Nigeria.


The plenary session of the Conference is held twice a year, for prayer, study and deliberations on important issues concerning the evangelizing mission of the Church in Nigeria, the pastoral care of the faithful, and the promotion of human dignity, human rights, truth, justice, reconciliation, peace and wholesome development in the wider society. 


The Bishops' Conference is headed by an executive body made up of the President, the Vice President, the Secretary, and the Assistant Secretary. 

Principal Officers

President: Most Rev. Augustine Obiora Akubeze (Archbishop of Benin City);
Vice–President: Most Rev. Lucius Iwejuru Ugorji (Bishop of Umuahia);
Secretary: Most Rev. Camillus Raymond Umoh (Bishop of Ikot Ekpene);
Assistant Secretary: Most Rev. Charles Michael Hammawa (Bishop of Jalingo).

Episcopal Chairmen of Departments

1. Pastoral Affairs - Bishop John Ebebe Ayah (Bishop of Uyo)
2. Church & Society - Archbishop Matthew Man’Oso Ndagoso (Archbishop of Kaduna)
3. Pastoral Agents - Bishop Michael Ekwoyi Apochi (Bishop of Otukpo)
4. Mission & Dialogue - Bishop Matthew Hassan Kukah (Bishop of Sokoto)
5. Directorate of Social Communications - Bishop Denis Chidi Isizoh (Auxiliary Bishop of Onitsha)

Episcopal Chairmen of Committees
Pastoral Affairs Department
Pastoral/Liturgy  Bishop John Ebebe Ayah (Bishop of Uyo)
Catechesis/Bible Apostolate/Religious Education Bishop Martin Olorunmolu (Bishop of Lokoja)
Pilgrimages/Synod/Congresses Bishop Anselm Umoren MSP (Auxiliary Bishop of Abuja)
Canon Law Bishop Jonas Benson Okoye (Auxiliary Bishop of Awka)
Inculturation and Translation Bishop Augustine Ukwuoma (Bishop of Orlu)
Theology Bishop John Okoye (Bishop of Awgu)
Ethics Bishop Matthew Audu (Bishop of Lafia)
New Evangelization Bishop Donatus Ogun OSA (Bishop of Uromi)
Pastoral Agents
Clergy Bishop Michael Ekwoyi Apochi (Bishop of Otukpo)
Seminaries Archbishop Valerian M. Okeke (Archbishop of Onitsha)
Religious Bishop Hilary Dachelem CMF (Bishop of Bauchi)
Laity Bishop John Niyiring OSA (Bishop of Kano)
Youth Bishop John Oyejola (Bishop of Osogbo)
Church and Society
Justice, Development, Peace & Caritas Archbishop Matthew Ndagoso (Archbishop of Kaduna)
Health Bishop Stephen Dami Mamza (Bishop of Yola)
Family and Human Life Bishop Hyacinth Egbebo MSP (Bishop of Bomadi)
Education Bishop Peter Odetoyinbo (Bishop of Abeokuta)
Migrants and Nomads Bishop Oliver Dashe Doeme (Bishop of Maiduguri)
Mission and Dialogue
Mission Bishop Matthew Hassan Kukah (Bishop of Sokoto)
Dialogue Bishop George Jonathan Dodo (Bishop of Zaria)
Ecumenism Bishop Michael Gobal Gokum (Bishop of Pankshin)
Commission on Mission Bishop Hiliary Paul Odili Okeke (Bishop of Nnewi)
Opus Securitatis Archbishop Gabriel Abegunrin (Archbishop of Ibadan)
Police Chaplaincy Bishop Michael Odogwu Elue (Bishop of Issele – Uku)
Army Chaplaincy Bishop Wilfred Anagbe CMF (Bishop of Makurdi)
Commission on New Evangelization Bishop Donatus Ogun OSA (Bishop of Uromi)
Pro Chancellor of VUNA  Bishop Godfrey I. Onah (Bishop of Nsukka)
Pro Chancellor of CIWA Archbishop Alfred Adewale Martins (Archbishop of Lagos)
Pontifical Mission Societies Bishop Yohanna Bulus (Bishop of Kontagora)
Finance Council Chairman Bishop Jude Arogundade (Bishop of Ondo)
Finance Council Member Bishop Peter Okpaleke (Bishop of Ekwulobia)
Finance Council Member Bishop Anthony Adaji (Bishop of Idah)